h1

So many have been spoiled…..

September 18, 2007

The Tigers had a HUGE opportunity tonight in Cleveland to start gaining ground of the Indians and (perhaps) the Yankees for a playoff spot. They managed to go up 5-2 heading into the 8th inning when Joel Zumaya blew it. He gave up three runs and it tied up the game. They battled for a few extra innings before giving up a walk off HR and the Indians won the game.

Almost instantaneously the Tiger’s weblogs exploded with thoughts of the season being over, Zumaya being the worst pitcher on the team, and Jim Leyland as a terrible manager. Now I understand that some people are just frustrated. We only have 11 games left in the season, and are still 4.5 games out of first and 3.5 out of the wild card. The season isn’t over yet. I’m a pretty emotional Tiger’s fan. I get upset when they make mistakes or blow a game, but at the end of the day I’m happy. I was really happy last year (as was everyone), but unlike those people (whom I think were spoiled by such a terrific season) I will be happy even if they miss the playoffs. The team has had a great season, I don’t even need to get into the individual seasons for guys like Verlander, Granderson, and Maggs.

They have a winning team. THE DETROIT TIGERS ARE NOW A WINNING TEAM! I’ve been waiting to say that all my life for Jebus sake! If they don’t do it this year, then they have one hell of a base to build upon for the ’08 season. As a Tiger fan since I was a little kid and basically since I was old enough to know what baseball was, I’ll just be happy to see my Tiger’s play well, a WS appearance would be great, a win would bring me to tears, but they don’t need to do that to make me happy. I’m just thankful that after years of patience, we finally have a team to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

