h1

Hitler Was A Vegetarian

March 10, 2009

Oh boy this could be a long one………

Saturday was a good day. In fact the entire week was saved by Saturday. Jenny and I went to see Watchmen~!

yuco_thewatchmen_01

Despite there not being a trailer for Star Trek in front of it (more on that in a second) it was a fantastic experience. The movie was everything I had hoped for and maybe more. The focus on character and the way they were able to stay true to the story and adapt as much as they did in the time allowed was incredible to me. The one thing I worried about most was Jenny as an outsider to the book and film and her enjoyment. Most of the critical review said outsiders won’t get it, and as it turns out that couldn’t have been further from the truth. She loved it as well, she even figured out the existence of Adrian Veidt’s pet Bubastis in it’s minute and a half of screen time. I should also mention that Jackie Earle Haley was magnificent as Rorschach!

I should also make mention of how great the opening credits were. Set to a fantastic Bob Dylan tune, the credits managed to cover all of the back story without much explanation later on. Even if you didn’t know who the characters are at the start most of those images are explained later on.

Speaking of the Star Trek trailer that I was disappointed I didn’t get to see on the silver screen…. It hit the net on Friday and it is without a doubt THE BEST Trek trailer in it’s long film history.

That brings us to yesterday and the return of House!

gw5601

And it was worth the wait. I had tweeted earlier on my Twitter account that I thought the show was good but not blow away. Well it didn’t end up as a blow away episode but it was certainly better than good! I like the way this show is going and as per usually I hope it never stops.

Heroes was pretty decent as well, but it looks like we are having a bigger episode next week. The stuff with Sylar and his Dad started good but I didn’t think it was a very good pay off in the end. Right now I’m kind of hot and cold with the show but I am willing to see how it pays off.

Time to start shopping for gifts! Kayla’s birthday is on April 4th, and Jenny has her birthday on May 10th! It’s also Mommy Day so it looks like I will be embellishing on the love of my life a bit more then usual…..Lucky her!

Leave a Reply

